1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Other Firearms & Tools > General Rifles and Shotguns

Old 05-22-2011, 10:11 PM

Entry level AR-15's... S&W M&P15 Sport vs. DPMS Sportical - which would you get?

First of all, if you're an AR snob and you're gonna say "neither they both suck" - please don't waste my time or your own by posting in this thread. Yes, I realize they are cheap guns. And yes, I know where to look for high quality AR-15's.

Anyone have first-hand experience with both by any chance? I am totally new to AR's and would be interested in buying one of these as a "first timer" thing, with the plan of buying a really nice one down the road after I educate myself some more. Just wanted to ask you guys about pros/cons between these 2 rifles. They seem very similar, but since they are the same price - which would you get if you were going to get a "value AR" for paper punching?

Thanks brothers!
Old 05-22-2011, 10:20 PM

Between the 2 I would definitely go with the S&W if nothing else for their warranty. Wait I did buy a M&P-15...crap I guess my vote don't count due to bias
Old 05-22-2011, 10:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabe Asher View Post
Between the 2 I would definitely go with the S&W if nothing else for their warranty. Wait I did buy a M&P-15...crap I guess my vote don't count due to bias
You have the Sport? Or one of the expensive M&P's?
Old 05-22-2011, 11:00 PM

What the heck is the "sport" ? I bought my S&W M&P-15 M4 right after they first came out due to their LE discount and liked it so much I took it home for the house. I also have a DPMS that Ive had for about 8yrs now but Its not a "sportical" if thats what your talkin about

Rule of thumb...don't buy anything that has some cheesy name added to it ! Its called Poser marketing
Old 05-22-2011, 11:06 PM

About three years ago I was all set to go the Noveske route.