1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > 1911 Manufacturers > Colt

Old 05-08-2011, 07:18 PM

Series 70 slide on a series 80 frame?

Ok, I a sure this has been covered but my search did not turn up the info I was looking for and since I am a 1911 rookie I thought I would just ask.

I recently purchased a mid 90's colt M1991a1 series 80.
I was planning on having the slide milled for Novak sights but I came across a great deal on a oem series 70 slide that alredy had Novak sights installed. So here is my question. I would prefer not to disable the firing pin safety on the series 80 fame so how would I go about modifying the 70 series slide to work on the non modified 80 series frame.

Thanks,

Andy
Old 05-08-2011, 07:41 PM
Banned

You could call Colt and ask if they can modify it, but I'd bet that by the time you're done with the work, you won't have saved much compared to installing the Novaks on the Series 80 slide. Or you could remove the FPS levers and just use the Series 70 slide as-is.
Old 05-08-2011, 07:42 PM

Hmmm....interesting dilema, a Series 80 receiver with S70 slide. I wonder if the plunger lever would interfere with the slide minus the plunger? I would pose this question in the Gunsmithing subforum. There are some great g'smiths that hang out there and could answer your question.

-1911Collector

"You have a pretty face. Do you speak Spanish? ...you have a face como un burro." Gru.
Old 05-08-2011, 07:46 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1911Collector View Post
Hmmm....interesting dilema, a Series 80 receiver with S70 slide. I wonder if the plunger lever would interfere with the slide minus the plunger?
Rather than lifting the plunger, the lever would contact the solid area of the slide where it's supposed to be. The spacer to replace the levers is only a $5 part.
Old 05-08-2011, 07:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1911Collector View Post