1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > 1911 Manufacturers > Springfield Armory

Old 01-22-2011, 07:09 PM

Mil-Spec won't feed hollow points!

Got a new Mil-Spec about a month ago. First trip to the range, I put about 100 rounds of FMJ through it. No problems whatsoever. Awesome.

So I bought some Hornady 230 and 200g +P hollow points, as well as some Federal HPs. The gun won't feed them! It is slightly better with the Federals, but the Hornadys jam up everytime. Like they're catching on the feed ramp.

Suggestions? I'm leery to take the HPs to the range in fear the gun will jam up even more severely. Don't want to screw anything up (I'm new to the 1911.)

Everyone likes photos, so here's what the Hornady ammo does when I try to chamber them:
Attached Thumbnails
photo (1).jpg   photo (2).jpg  
Old 01-22-2011, 07:40 PM

Can you supply a good photo of the feed ramp and the barrel throat with say the slide locked back and no ammo in it? It's hard to tell if the rnd is hanging up on something or not clearing the magazine correctly. Did all magazines not feed that ammo?
Old 01-22-2011, 08:36 PM

My fix

I had the exact same problem. my solution-which may not be yours, was to remove just the slightest amount of material from the bottom of the barrel throat, and polish it. However as I was told from my gunsmith, it can be a number of things. One common thing is-from what I'm told, magazines. Some will work/ some won't for some guns. There is at least six different makers of 1911 magazines, wilson combat, and chip mcCormick are what I use and they work fine. I also have used all the rental ones that come with the range guns without any problems.Polishing the feed ramp- if it's not already done may help. Talk to, or take it to a gunsmith is what I would do.

Last edited by lkwdryan; 01-22-2011 at 08:39 PM.
Old 01-22-2011, 08:39 PM