1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Reloading Bench

Old 12-11-2010, 12:30 PM

sorting brass by headstamps

On 45 ACP, do you guys sort your brass by headstamp?

I'm somewhat new to reloading, and the other cartridge I reload is 6.8 SPC (like a 270 but for the AR-15 platform). On the 6.8 brass makers vary the thickness of their brass enough to vary the powder capacity +/- around a grain. So if you work up a warm, compressed load for a higher capacity case, then put the same load in a lower capacity case...

I'm guessing this isn't a problem with 45 ACP? Based on the lower pressure of 45 ACP, and (as far as I know) the charges aren't compressed...

I bought about a 1k of once fired 45 brass, and sorted it because it seemed like the thing to do at the time. I think I'll continue sorting, so I can shoot a particular headstamp at a time and make it easier to spot my brass. But I was just wondering if its also a safety issue on 45?
Old 12-11-2010, 12:34 PM

The only time I sort my Brass is when I am trying to work up a certain type of load for my 1911's.

It is a easy thing to do when you have 1000 pieces, but after that point it gets to become a PITA.............

Clyde
Old 12-11-2010, 12:46 PM

Ive noticed small variations when it comes to .45 brass that i have.

Winchester is .888-.897 and every where in between, i have yet to find a batch that is even close from once case to another, but it cleans up well.

Federal seems to have the largest flash holes and stays consistant at .892- .894

Aguila/PMC is some of the cheaper/thinner brass, i consistantly discard their once fired brass.

MFS is about the same and has a pin hole for a flash hole.

RP is nice brass but i have yet to gather enough together to load up a solid batch.

Fiocchi cleans up to a really nice shine, the primer pockets for some reason are also easier to clean.