1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > 1911 Manufacturers > Other 1911's

Old 07-08-2010, 02:39 PM

American Tactical FX45 1911 Pistol

I wanted to take this opportunity to post a review on my new American Tactical FX45 Military Model 1911 pistol. While this is my first 1911 to personally own, I carried one back in 1991 on the Korean DMZ during my year long tour. I have carried various modern pistols over the last twenty years, but that old Remington Rand 1911A1 was something that I truly missed. I have visited this forum many times, but this is my first time in having something to post.

Manufactured by Shooters Arms Manufacturing in the Philippines, the FX45 is a fine pistol and was worth the wait. I had handled a pre-production sample of this model earlier this year at an industry trade show and knew that I would be adding one to my collection.

This pistol arrived well-oiled and was secured in a shipping box bearing the American Tactical logo. The included instructions were rather basic, but anyone with knowledge of the 1911 can handle the standard assembly/disassembly with this pistol. The finish of the pistol was a consistent flat black and the wooden grips were made of Filipino Mahogany. Another nice feature was the ACT MAG 8 round magazine that was included.

I have been busy with a new daughter and work, so I haven’t had much time to head to the range. However, this pistol has functioned flawlessly for over 200 rounds and easily achieves basic accuracy. I say basic accuracy in that hitting near center and point of impact was accomplished. The “fliers” were all courtesy of it having been a few years since I had handled a 1911. I will keep you all updated as I continue shooting and testing this great pistol.