1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Reloading Bench

Old 04-13-2010, 08:50 PM

Reloading 9mm for accuracy

Gents,

I've been working on developing an accurate 9mm load for my S&W 1911 Pro. So far I am not succeeding and I'm getting a bit frustrated since I bought this gun for competition use and with the current group sizes I'm getting it is less than ideal for that purpose. I also suspect (or at least want to suspect) that something may not be up to snuff with the barrel itself. I'll post more on that later. But for now, here is what I have done so far, roughly in order:

1. Bought new gun (ok, that should be obvious )

2. Tried previous 9mm load (I had been using this in my M&P with Storm Lake barrel): .356" 125gr LRN, 5.2gr VV 3N37, 1.145" OAL, .378" taper crimp, Winchester brass, CCI primers - Accuracy at 10 yards seemed OK, but bench testing at 15 yards was no bueno. Group sizes were ~4-6 inches. I'm not THAT bad of a shot either...

3. Thoroughly cleaned barrel, did ladder test with Power Pistol at 5.2gr., 5.3gr., 5.4gr. and 5.5gr. All other parameters unchanged. Accuracy at 15 yards was unchanged.

4. Slugged bore - measured .356". Ordered same bullets sized to .357"

5. Thoroughly cleaned barrel, repeated ladder test with Power Pistol at 4.8gr., 4.9gr., 5.0gr. and 5.1gr. All other parameters unchanged. Tested accuracy at 25 yards this time. Picture below shows the results, clockwise from upper left: 4.85gr., 4.9gr., 5.0gr.:

Yuck.

What I did not photograph were the results using factory 124gr Federal HST. They were no better. All of these groups were shot from a sandbag rest on a calm day.