1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > General > General Gun Discussion

Old 05-04-2009, 10:03 PM

Metal Injection Molding Demistified

There have been so many threads on this subject on so many forums that we're all sick of hearing about it, but I'm here to present a slightly different take on the matter. Realize that I am no expert on the process, but I have done more research than the majority of the droves who decry it or the few who defend it. It is my hope to put what I have learned and deduced into a form that will be useful and easily understood. Hopefully, if I do a good enough job explaining this, the mods will make this post sticky, so that it can become an easy point of reference for those with questions about MIM.

For those who don't know what it is, Metal Injection Molding (MIM) is a process of creating a metal part -- usually a small, complex one. It is done by injecting metal powder carried in a molten medium, usually a combination of wax and plastic, into a mold of the part. The plastic is then removed through the use of heat and chemicals. After that, the part is heated, again, to just below its melting point, in a process called "sintering." I was never really able to find a thorough explanation of why, but the part shrinks during these heating processes. It is my belief that this is caused by a reduction in its volume due to the removal of the plastic/wax medium that had formerly composed part of its makeup, but I could be wrong. At any rate, this final heating causes the powder to bond together into a solid unit that is the finished part.

The advantages to this process are that it's inexpensive, (Don't knock it; it means your gun is less expensive at the counter, too.) and that it can hold extremely precise tolerances.