1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > General > General Gun Discussion

Old 11-14-2008, 04:28 PM

Hammer Spring Damage if Locked & Cocked?

I have been a shotgun shooter all of my life. My experience with handguns has been only recent, and I am trying to do things right. Shotgun shooters who own fine double-barrelled guns are taught to use snap caps to release the hammer springs because leaving the guns cocked will wear-out the springs. I have not heard of any similar concern with 1911 pistols. I do not carry a 1911, but keep one in my desk at home for home defense. I keep it cocked and locked with safety on to be ready for immediate action if need be. Does leaving the gun cocked and locked for long periods of time wear out the hammer springs or any other parts? Please don't flame me for my ignorance, as I said above, I am a beginner with handguns.

Tulsajim
Old 11-14-2008, 05:10 PM

jim, 11/15/08

It is usually the repeated compressions and decompressions of spring use which cause spring fatigue, not so much keeping the spring compressed for long periods of time. Thus it is OK to keep your 1911 cocked and locked for long periods of time. The same goes for mag springs- it is OK to keep them fully loaded for a long time without a decrease in function. Hope this helps.

best wishes- oldandslower
Old 11-14-2008, 05:26 PM

Same here. Keep it cocked and locked.

Old 11-14-2008, 05:28 PM

I have one that has been cocked and locked for the better part of 16 years with no problems.
Old 11-14-2008, 05:51 PM

Thanks guys. You have been very helpful, and I am glad that is one thing I don't have to worry about. I probably will have more newbie questions in the future. So, please bear with me. I have shot shotguns for 45 years and am a NSCA A class sporting clays shooter, but I have only been shooting pistols for about 3 months. So, I have a lot more to learn from you guys.

Tulsajim
Old 11-14-2008, 07:30 PM