1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Gunsmithing & Troubleshooting

Old 05-03-2007, 06:27 PM

Trouble fitting new slide stop.

I'm trying to put a cylinder & slide forged slide top into my springfield milspec.

I noticed that the slide release doesn't go far enough upwards when I cycle the gun with an empty mag. So I filed a bit off the top of that inner hump thing.

AM I RUINING A $40 SLIDE STOP???!

I also noticed that the slide won't go foward all the way with this new slide stop unless pushed. This will definitely ruin the cycling...

HELP HELP!!!1
Old 05-03-2007, 06:47 PM

Sounds like the pin is a little big. Don't mess around with the part of the slide stop that engages the follower. I'm not an expert, but I'll sure one will be along shortly to tell you how to fix your problem.
...arms...discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe, and preserve order in the world as well as property. ...Horrid mischief would ensue were (the law-abiding) deprived the use of them. -- Thomas Paine
Old 05-03-2007, 08:53 PM
1911 Aficionado

Take the barrel out, and with the slide stop mounted on the frame, see if the mag will push the slide stop all the way up into its notch in the slide. If it doesn't go, it could be the slot in the slide stop isn't wide and/or deep enough. The top of the "inner hump thing" is what keeps the slide stop from popping out as the gun cycles; it should clear the take-down notch in the slide, but shouldn't be reduced beyond that.
Old 05-03-2007, 11:35 PM