1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > 1911 Manufacturers > Other 1911's

Old 07-30-2006, 03:01 PM

Llama 45 acp?

Hi everybody!

I'm new in this forum and would like to share my present "not-knowing" with you, thats if you would be able to help me in my "problem".

I work in a gun store (summer job) and in last week a customer gave his Llama .45 IX-C, yearmodel -95 for us to sell. I inspected it and tried it and it felt good and looked nice. After that I was hooked and wanted to buy a .45 1911. He had shot little over 200 rounds with it. Barrel looked to be in good condition and so did slide.

I consider myself as an casual shooter, i would possibly shoot something like 1000 rounds max with it. I am a student so budget is tight, and that Llama would fit in it. I live in Finland and we don't have that many options that you can find in USA, especially in 1911 configuration. Of course we have Colt and possibly Springfield but a brand new gun won't fit in my limited budget. The price level is a bit different in here from guns than in USA. (new Llama max-II L/F costs 478 (621 USD), in USA you can get a new one with under 300 USD+tax).

But, I know about Llamas bad reputation, especially during years 92-95 the quality was, generally speaking, sinking.

So, to question: Do you have any experinence with Llamas, particulary on .45 acp? Was it a good gun or did you wanted to get rid of it as quickly as possible?
Old 07-30-2006, 04:25 PM

I know someone in my IPSC club that has over 10K rounds to his Llama (true 1911 clone, no external extractor) with no failures (I Know, I shoot with him all the time). Did he just got lucky? Probably so, but bare in mind that first rate manufacturers can have bad ones too, the same can be said the other way around. So, yes, there are good Llama's out there.
Is it a true 1911 clone? If its not, I'll probably pass.
Old 07-30-2006, 04:26 PM