1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > 1911 Manufacturers > Kimber

Old 07-17-2006, 08:01 PM

Will Kimber Replace a slide if User Pays

Question. Has anyone called Kimber and requested that they replace their ExEx side with one that that an internal extractor? If so, what was the cost and the turn around time.

I have a Gold Combat RL II that has always run fine, but I wanted to see what my options were.

Regards,
Greyson
Old 07-17-2006, 09:02 PM

Shoot them an email.
Old 07-17-2006, 10:05 PM

If you email, let us know what the response is.
Old 07-18-2006, 12:52 PM

The answer given to me was no.
Old 07-18-2006, 12:59 PM

The slides and frames are supposed to be mated during early production. They probably don't want the hassle of fitting another slide unless there is an actual problem.
Old 07-18-2006, 03:45 PM

The slide and frame are in fact paired up during manufacture (as is evidensed by the serial number scribed in the slide). I've had slides replaced and I've had frames replaced.

Others have had slides replaced when the EE failed them.

IF you EE is causing you trouble I'd ask them to replace the slide at THEIR cost.

In any case... they should be willing to replace it at you cost... But why? If it runs then it runs and you have the benefit of no extractor tuning. If it does not run then get them to pay for the replacement. Though I DO see an issue for long term ownership where you cannot get parts.

If that's the issue get them to send you a bunch of EEs, they should have a bucket full by now.

It only takes a second to dial 911; it could take the rest of your life for help to arrive...

Posts are my opinion based on my experience; YMMV.
Old 07-19-2006, 01:20 PM

Yes. I the slide and frame are "matted" but all that means is they fitted them together. No different that if I had my gunsmith do the same to a Caspian.