1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Hardware & Accessories > Reloading Bench

Old 01-26-2006, 09:20 PM

Want to reload. What do I need?

I'm looking to start reloading and wanted to know what I will need. I am very new to this and don't know to much. I have researched some of the presses on this site. I plan on reloading 45 ACP and 9mm. The presses I'm considering, after reading through this forum, will be a Dillon 550 or the 650 and maybe the Lee Load Master. I'm just not sure what I will need as a nessescity other than the press.

Also, any thoughts on primers, powder, cases, etc.., and other presses, would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you all,

Matt

Last edited by mucky; 01-26-2006 at 09:43 PM.
Old 01-26-2006, 11:32 PM

I am still kinda new to the hobby so I will not recomend the components but here is some of the other stuff you'll need or want. Powder measure, scale, bullet puller, a good bench to mount it on, ABCs of reloading is a great book, at least one reloading manual but i like most here will recomend having a few different ones. Some sort of storage boxes/drawers to store all your components, bullets, primers, and brass. I still need to get a set of drawers for components, I am looking at one of the ones at lowes that you would put all your nuts ,bolts, screws (yes I have a few loose screws), that type of stuff.

i personally have a Lee Pro1000 for 45 and 357 and a RCBS Partner press single stage that I use for working up a round and my rifle cals. If you can afford to get a single stage along with a progresive I have found it nice to have around for figguing out the pefect load so you know exactly how to set everything for your progressive. I had my Partner press before I got the progresive and it really helped out learning how to reload. I have never used a blue (Dillon) press but I have heard and read a lot of great stuff about them.

hope all this helps
alex