1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > Applications > Training Talk & Events

Old 01-19-2005, 11:02 PM

Another Front Sight Review

I attended Front Sight's 4-Day Defensive Handgun class last weekend. I was asked for a review of what my experience was like so I thought I would post it here if anyone else would be interested.

Some background...
I am very new to shooting handguns. I have shot rifles in the past but do not consider myself proficient by any degree. I wanted to attend a class that would show me some basics in safety, technique, marksmanship without being too intense or advanced beyond my capabilities. I read as many reviews of schools around the country that I could. Several items sold me on Front Sight.
1) They had a class that was coming up and I did not have to take many days off of work.
2) I was able to obtain a $200 certificate from www.fscerts.com. This saved me $1,000 off the regular price of the class.
3) Reviews of Front Sight seemed to indicate that they could educate someone new to shooting handguns like myself.

I packed up my Baer Concept 1 and my Springfield (they recommend bringing a backup weapon), my range gear and some clothes and made the 7 hour drive out to Pahrump, Nevada. First things first, Pahrump is not the most glamorous place on this planet. The SaddleWest hotel room was comfortable and reasonably priced, but the restaurant was best substituted with McDonalds take out. The one benefit was that SaddleWest would provide you with a sack lunch to take with you each day ($9 per lunch...). I was told by other Front Sight students that staying in Las Vegas (Silverton Hotel) was a more comfortable and culinarily superior to Pahrump. Silverton Hotel is about an extra hours drive each day, which after a long day on the range makes me think twice about driving more than I have to.

First Day at Front Sight...