1911Forum
Forum   Reviews   Rules   Legal   Site Supporters & Donations   Advertise

Go Back   1911Forum > General > Range Reports

Old 03-27-2012, 03:42 PM

Is it me or the sights?

I am very new to hand guns. I have now about 500 rounds thru my .45 and am hitting consistantly low left . I have tightened up my grip and worked on trigger pull to not much avail. Am I really that bad??

Last edited by ewetstone; 03-27-2012 at 04:01 PM.
Old 03-27-2012, 03:47 PM

It is almost surely a case of jerking the trigger.

Dry firing is a big help but the best thing is to get some qualfied instruction.
Old 03-27-2012, 03:48 PM

Are you right or left handed? Low and right would be an indication that you are working the trigger improperly if you are left handed (the reverse is the are right handed). It is common to need to drift sights to get the POA to be the same as POI.
Old 03-27-2012, 03:51 PM

Consistently low right , but how is the group ? Good , Bad , All over ?

If the group is good then adjust the sight to hit where you aim.
If the group is bad then shoot it from a rest and find out if it's you or the gun.
Old 03-27-2012, 03:55 PM

First you need to determine the mechanical POI (point of impact) by eliminating your technique. A fancy benchrest is great if you have access to one but sandbags work well too. I have found a rolled up towel makes a good enough rest for the purpose of sighting the pistol. http://archives.gunsandammo.com/cont...t-your-handgun

Once you've done that, and adjusted the sights accordingly, you can refer to this chart that shows what technique error would cause impact to be off in different ways:
http://www.targetshooting.ca/docs/Pi...t_Analysis.pdf you might be able to find a better version of that by Googling "pistol target analysis"
Old 03-27-2012, 04:02 PM

Had to edit post. Meant to say low left. thanx for the responses though.
Old 03-27-2012, 04:07 PM