1911Forum

1911Forum (http://forums.1911forum.com/index.php)
-   Other 1911's (http://forums.1911forum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   Detonics (http://forums.1911forum.com/showthread.php?t=159547)

Jaybo 12-06-2006 04:50 PM

Detonics

A bit rich for my blood, but has anyone bought one of the new ones?

Does Detonics offer gunsmithing? I'm thinking of getting one of their winged thumb safeties, but they say it needs gunsmith installation...

RickB 12-06-2006 06:52 PM

I test-fired an early Combat Master, over a year ago, and it seemed to be a pretty well-made piece. I borrowed the gun from a "gunwriter" who had it for testing, and I don't really know if it was pre-production, or taken off the production line, or what. I have an original Seattle Combat Master, circa 1979, for which I paid less than $550; makes $1000 for a new one appear a bit steep. I very much appreciate the new company offering springs, mags, and other spare parts that fit the old guns, so I wish them great success.
Detonics-USA will do warranty work and repairs on the new guns, but I don't know if they do custom work. I heard they are going to start accepting the old Seattle/Bellevue/Phoenix guns for service, and maybe when they get that up and running they will have the capacity to do custom work. Have you tried calling or emailing them?

Jaybo 12-06-2006 07:36 PM

Not yet, but I'll see what they have to say tomorrow when they're back open for business.

rustywood 12-07-2006 12:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jaybo
A bit rich for my blood, but has anyone bought one of the new ones?

Does Detonics offer gunsmithing? I'm thinking of getting one of their winged thumb safeties, but they say it needs gunsmith installation...

i hear ya, but when you consider that a simular gun cost about 700-900,and they are not made with all steel parts like this one .im looking at a combat master,and from what i understand detonics was the start of the sub-compacts

Jaybo 12-07-2006 08:28 AM